Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte... - Lot 4 - Daguerre

Lot 4
Got to lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 14 300EUR
Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte... - Lot 4 - Daguerre
Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte Arnoux and others
CONSTRUCTION OF THE SUEZ CANAL, 1866-1867
Album of the engineer Anthony Poirson in residence in Cairo.
Large oblong album, 94 albumen prints, between 20?x?28 cm and 18?x?23 cm, captioned in pencil on the mounts, one print stained, good condition.
On 30 November 1854, Ferdinand de Lesseps was granted a ninety-nine year concession for the canal zone by the Viceroy of Egypt, and on 19 May 1855, he founded the Compagnie universelle du canal maritime de Suez, which managed the construction of the canal from 1859 to 1869.
The first owner of the album, Anthony Poirson, was an engineer in charge of solving the drinking water supply for the workers in Cairo and on the site. He is shown in a photo of Cuvier. His membership in the administration of the Canal Company explains the presence of rare photos of the engineer Louis Cuvier (14 high-contrast prints) and the Polish-born photographer Justin Kozlowski (16 prints), whose distribution was confidential and very limited because of the intense industrial espionage surrounding this great project.
The second part of the album contains, among others, 6 prints by Hippolyte Arnoux, 4 by Wilhelm Hammerschmidt, several by Pascal Sebah and Félix Bonfils, some views of Aden at the time of Arthur Rimbaud, the return of a caravan from Mecca to Cairo (Dosseh), views of Sudan and Italy (Pompeii, Vesuvius) by Luigi Fiorillo (1847-1898)
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte... - Lot 4 - Daguerre

Lot 4
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte... - Lot 4 - Daguerre
Louis Cuvier, Justin Kozlowski, Hippolyte Arnoux et autres
CONSTRUCTION DU CANAL DE SUEZ, 1866-1867
Album de l'ingénieur Anthony Poirson en résidence au Caire.
Grand album oblong, 94 épreuves albuminées, entre 20?x?28 cm et 18?x?23 cm, légendées au crayon sur les montages, une épreuve tachée, bon état général.
Le 30 novembre 1854, Ferdinand de Lesseps obtient du vice-roi d'Égypte la concession de la zone du canal pour une durée de quatre-vingt-dix-neuf ans, et, le 19 mai 1855, il fonde la Compagnie universelle du canal maritime de Suez, qui dirige la construction de l'ouvrage de 1859 à 1869.
Le premier propriétaire de l'album, Anthony Poirson, était un ingénieur chargé de résoudre l'alimentation en eau potable des ouvriers au Caire et sur le site. On le retouve sur une photo de Cuvier. Son appartenance à l'administration de la société du Canal explique la présence de rares photos de l'ingénieur Louis Cuvier (14 épreuves très contrastées) et du photographe d'origine polonaise Justin Kozlowski (16 épreuves), dont la diffusion était confidentielle et très limitée à cause de l'espionnage industriel intense autour de ce grand projet.
La seconde partie de l'album contient, entre autres, 6 épreuves de Hippolyte Arnoux, 4 de Wilhelm Hammerschmidt, plusieurs de Pascal Sebah et de Félix Bonfils, quelques vues d'Aden à l'époque d'Arthur Rimbaud, le retour d'une caravane de la Mecque au Caire (Dosseh), des vues du Soudan et d'Italie (Pompéi, le Vésuve) par Luigi Fiorillo (1847-1898)
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue