JAVANESE PORTRAITS AND COURSE SCENES, Java,... - Lot 3 - Daguerre

Lot 3
Got to lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 16 900EUR
JAVANESE PORTRAITS AND COURSE SCENES, Java,... - Lot 3 - Daguerre
JAVANESE PORTRAITS AND COURSE SCENES, Java, early 1860s
Folio, bound in dark red basane with, on the first plate, in gilt letters:
"JAVA - Eduard Cassalette" (local binding), handwritten index and 72 albumen prints, numbered in pencil, mounted one by one for the larger ones or by four or five for the cdv formats on the rectos, numerous wet spots. Humidity has affected all the prints, most of them with some severity.

These prints are from the first period of work by the island's first photographer, the European Isidore Van Kinsbergen. Isidore was born in 1821 in Bruges in the United Kingdom of the Netherlands, nine years before the creation of Belgium, his father was from Amsterdam. He arrived in Batavia as the leader of a troupe that founded the French Theatre of Batavia, and the settings of his paintings are influenced by his life as a young man in the heart of theatres.
None of the prints are signed, comparable and slightly later portraits from the same collodion negatives can be found in a few referenced albums, Leiden University, Syracuse University (New York), Musée du
Quai Branly.

Note the impressive tropical still life inspired by the work of the Flemish painters that opens the album. Portraits taken at the court of the Sultan of Yogyakarta, the Susuhunan (emperor)
of Surakarta (Solo) and the regent of Bandung, as well as in Madura and Buleleng (east of
of Bali).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

PORTRAITS ET SCÈNES DE COURS JAVANAISES,... - Lot 3 - Daguerre

Lot 3
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
PORTRAITS ET SCÈNES DE COURS JAVANAISES,... - Lot 3 - Daguerre
PORTRAITS ET SCÈNES DE COURS JAVANAISES, Java, début des années 1860
Folio, relié en basane rouge foncé avec, sur la première planche, en lettres dorées :
« JAVA - Eduard Cassalette » (reliure locale), index manuscrit et 72 tirages albuminés, numérotés au crayon, montés un par un pour les plus grands ou par quatre ou cinq pour les formats cdv sur les rectos, nombreuses mouillures. L'humidité a affecté tous les tirages, dont une majorité avec une certaine gravité.

Ces tirages sont issus de la première période de travail du premier photographe de l'île, l'Européen Isidore Van Kinsbergen. Isidore est né en 1821 à Bruges dans le Royaume-Uni des Pays-Bas, neuf ans avant la création de la Belgique, son père était originaire d'Amsterdam. Il arrive à Batavia à la tête d'une troupe qui fonde le théâtre français de Batavia, et les décors de ses tableaux sont influencés par sa vie de jeune homme évoluant au coeur des théâtres.
Aucun des tirages n'est signé, des portraits comparables et légèrement plus tardifs tirés des mêmes négatifs au collodion se trouvent dans quelques albums référencés, université de Leiden, université de Syracuse (New York), musée du
Quai Branly.

Notez l'impressionnante nature morte tropicale inspirée de l'oeuvre des peintres flamands qui ouvre l'album. Portraits réalisés à la cour du sultan de Yogyakarta, du Susuhunan (empereur)
de Surakarta (Solo) et du régent de Bandung, ainsi qu'à Madura et Buleleng (est
de Bali).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue